Our Favorite Oven Fried Chicken

This is my favorite oven-fried chicken recipe.  It is perfect for those nights when you are wondering what you will do with that package of chicken you have thawing in your fridge.  I make sure I always have  Peppridge Farm Herb Stuffing in my pantry so that I can make this meal when I don’t know what else to make. 

I got this recipe from my mother-in-law, Sally Hughey, about 25 years ago and have made it ever since.  It makes your entire house smell delicious!  When the Hughey kids were younger, I used a whole cut up chicken because it is cheaper.  These days, I usually use boneless, skinless breasts. 

1 pkg of Peppridge Farm Herb Stuffing

1-1.5 lbs of chicken (can use boneless, skinless breasts, bone-in breasts, or a whole chicken cut up)

1 cup buttermilk

salt and pepper to taste

1/2 stick of butter (do not use margarine)

1.  Preheat oven to 400

2.  Put stuffing mix in a large ziploc bag and crush with a rolling pin or meat mallet

3.  Rinse chicken and lightly season with salt and pepper

4.  Dip chicken pieces into buttermilk and then coat with stuffing mix

5.  Place onto a cookie sheet that has been lightly greased.  Pour melted butter over the top of the chicken

6.  For chicken breasts:  Cook 20 minutes, turn over and cook 10 more minutes.  For Bone in breasts or whole cut up chicken, cook 30 minutes, turn and cook 15 minutes more.

One thought on “Our Favorite Oven Fried Chicken

  1. Pingback: Chef Doru's Blog

Leave a Reply

